European Commission and EIROforum pledge to extend collaboration

24 June 2010

Garching, 24 June 2010 — In a Statement of Intent signed today at the offices of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Garching, Germany, the European Commission (EC) and the members of EIROforum, including ESO, formalise their desire to maintain and further develop their cooperation, for the benefit of European science.

In signing this statement, Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science and Iain Mattaj, Chairman of EIROforum and Director General of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), as well as the Directors General or equivalent of the other EIROforum members, agree to cooperate to further European research in general, and the European Research Area in particular.

As leaders in our fields of scientific research we play an active role, every day, in turning the European Research Area into a reality. At EIROforum we therefore have considerable experience and expertise, which we will strive to make available to the Commission for the benefit of Europe as a whole,” Mattaj says.

The pledge of mutual consultation and collaboration signed today reinforces the aims of the initial Statement of Intent signed by the EC and EIROforum in 2003. The areas covered by this enhanced collaboration range from research programming to e-science, including human resources and training and mobility of researchers; research infrastructures; intellectual property and knowledge sharing; international cooperation in research; science education and communication.

About EIROforum

EIROforum is a collaboration between seven European intergovernmental scientific research organisations. As world leaders within their respective fields, the EIROforum member organisations constitute the vanguard of European science, enabling European scientists to engage in truly cutting-edge research and be competitive on a global scale. These organisations have a vital role to play in the future of European research. EIROforum is composed of the European Organisation for Nuclear Research, CERN; the European Fusion Development Agreement, EFDA, the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, EMBL, the European Space Agency, ESA, the European Southern Observatory, ESO, the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, ESRF, and the Institut Laue-Langevin, ILL.



Henri Boffin
ESO La Silla, Paranal and E-ELT public information officer
Garching, Germany
Tel: +49 89 3200 6222
Cell: +49 174 515 4324

About the Announcement



European Commission and EIROforum pledge to extend collaboration
European Commission and EIROforum pledge to extend collaboration