Win a Trip to Paranal with the Photo Nightscape Awards 2017

27 January 2017

ESO is now inviting submissions for the fourth Photo Nightscape Awards (PNA) —  an international competition for astrophotographers. As a partner in the competition, which is organised by the Association Française d’Astronomie, ESO will arrange for the winner of the Nightscape category to visit the Paranal Observatory in northern Chile, home of the Very Large Telescope (VLT).

The competition categories for adult entrants are: Nightscape, Timelapse, and In Town, and they are open to photographers from all countries. The PNA Junior category, for entrants under 18 years old, is reserved for French nationals only.

Anyone wishing to take part in the competition should submit a registration form, their photo or timelapse sequence and, if they are under 18 years of age, a parental consent form, to the following email address by 15 August 2017: For more detailed information, please refer to the competition rules on the dedicated web page.

The names of the winners will be announced on 22 September, 2017 on the PNA Facebook page and at the award ceremony, when a selection of the best photographs and timelapses will be displayed.

Miguel Claro, President of the PNA jury, said: “I invite all astrophotographers to enter this prestigious competition and to share your photographs and your emotions with us. Your images are a reflection of you as a photographer, a compelling way to appreciate the night sky, and a contribution to humanity’s lasting heritage."

Important dates:

  • All photographs must have been taken between 1 October 2016 and 15 August 2017.
  • The deadline for submitting the photos is 15 August 2017.
  • The awards will be announced on on 22 September 2017.



Franck Seguin
Photo Nightscape Awards
Paris, France
Tel: +33 1 45 89 89 08

Oana Sandu
Community Coordinator & Strategy Officer
ESO education and Public Outreach Department
Tel: +49 89 320 069 65

About the Announcement



Photo Nightscape Awards 2017
Photo Nightscape Awards 2017