On 11 October 2012, ESO's Director General, Professor Tim de Zeeuw, and the Council President, Professor Xavier Barcons, will welcome Ministers from the Member States and the host country Chile, the ESO Council, representatives of ESO committees, past ESO Directors General, renowned astronomers and other people who have played key roles for ESO, at a gala anniversary event to take place in Munich.