New Countries Join ESO Science Outreach Network

28 March 2014

The ESO Science Outreach Network (ESON) has grown wider following the appointment of national representatives for Hungary, Serbia and Australia. The network now covers 30 countries, including the 15 ESO Member States. The core of the ESO website is now available in 21 different languages. Press releases are translated into 18 different languages, and the Pictures of the Week and announcements are also being made available in more languages.

The nodes of the ESO Science Outreach Network act as ESO’s local media and outreach contacts, with the general aim of promoting ESO's mission and demonstrating the many inspirational aspects of astronomy. They also serve as contacts between the media and scientists in their local area and can also be approached in connection with ESO’s projects and other science outreach initiatives.

The 30 countries in the ESO Science Outreach Network are the 15 ESO Member States: Austria, Brazil, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom, as well as 15 non-Member States: Chile (host nation), Albania, Australia, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine and the USA.



Olivier Hainaut
ESO Science Outreach Network
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 3200 6752

About the Announcement



Map of the ESO Science Outreach Network
Map of the ESO Science Outreach Network