The La Silla 2000+ Report Now Available

The Working Group "La Silla 2000+" has completed its work, based on the replies to the questionnaire survey of the Users Committee (see *The Messenger* No. 95, p. 38). A total of 256 colleagues from the ESO countries participated in this survey, a very gratifying turnout.

The report of the Working Group, which contains a set of recommendations for the future of the La Silla facilities (1999–2006) has been submitted to the Director General of ESO (June 1999).

The final "La Silla 2000+ Report" (with colour figures) is now available on the Web at the following address:

The NEON Observing School

The Network of European Observatories in the North (NEON) organises an observational Euro summer school sponsored by the European Community. This school is taking over from the former, discontinued, ESO/OHP summer school and intends to run on a yearly basis.

The participating observatories are: Asiago Observatory (Italy), Calar Alto Observatory (Germany-Spain) and Haute-Provence Observatory (France), with additional tutorial assistance from ESO.

The purpose of the school is to provide an opportunity to gain practical observational experience at the telescope, in observatories with state-of-the-art instrumentation. To this effect, the school proposes tutorial observations in small groups of 3 students, under the guidance of an experienced observer, centred around a small research project and going through all steps of a standard observing programme. Some complementary lectures will be given by experts in the field.

The school is open to students working on a PhD thesis in Astronomy and which are nationals of a Member State or an Associated State of the European Union. The working language is English. Up to eighteen participants will be selected by the organising

PERSONNEL MOVEMENTS

(1st October 1999–30th November 1999)

International Staff

ARRIVALS

EUROPE

BRISTOW, Paul (GB), Science Data Analyst/Programmer BROWN, Anthony (NL), Fellow DIMMLER, Martin (D), Electronics/Control Engineer ESKDALE, Jane (AUS), Secretary/Group Assistant GAILLARD, Boris (F), Associate GONÇALVES C., Anabela (P), Fellow RITTER, Heiderose (D), Associate RIVINUS, Thomas (D), Fellow SARTORETTI, Paola (I), Scientific Application Developer TUELLMANN, Ralph (D), Student VAN ECK, Sophie (B), Fellow ZAGGIA, Simone (I), Fellow

CHILE

ATHREYA, Ramana (IND), Fellow GALLIANO, Emmanuel (F), Student MARCONI, Gianni (I), Operations Staff Astronomer TAMAI, Roberto (I), Mechanical Engineer http://www.eso.org/gen-fac/commit/ls2000pl1.html

The Working Group wishes to thank all of those who answered the questionnaire. Special thanks go to the ESO Remedy Team, and in particular to Rein Warmels who helped to design the questionnaire and prepare the figures in the Report.

The report will now be discussed in the relevant ESO committees.

Birgitta Nordström

Chair, ESO Users Committee and the WG "La Silla 2000+"

committee and will have their travel and living expenses paid, if they satisfy the EC rules (age limit of 35 years at the time of the Euro Summer School).

The first NEON Euro summer school will take place at the Calar Alto Observatory in Spain, from

July 10 to 22, 2000

Instructions and full practical details can be found on the school Web site when this announcement appears in print.

Applicants are expected to fill in an application form that will be available on the Web site, with a curriculum vitae and a description of previous observational experience, and to provide a letter of recommendation from a senior scientist.

The provisional application deadline is March 31st, 2000.

The school Web site is hosted by the

EAS Web site at: http://www.iap.fr/eas/schools.html

Secretary of the school: Mrs Brigitte RABAN at IAP, 98bis, Bd Arago, F-75014 PARIS.

Michel Dennefeld, Co-ordinator of the NEON school.

DEPARTURES

EUROPE

BALON, Serge (F), Technical Assistant BRESOLIN, Fabio (I), Fellow FERRARI, Marc (F), Associate FUCH, Rainer (D), Legal Advisor HILL, Susan (GB), Archive Operator KORNWEIBEL, Nicholas (AUS), Software Engineer LATSCH, Hedwig (D), Administrative Clerk SCODEGGIO, Marco (I), Fellow

CHILE

SCHUMANN, Erich (D), Catering La Silla

Local Staff

DEPARTURES

DIAZ,Jorge, RAMIREZ, Luis, LECAROS, Fernando, FERNANDEZ DE C., Rodrigo,

ARRIVAL

TAPIA, Mario, Mechanical Engineer