distribution of ESO press information. A basic personal Internet link would not allow for easy transfer of image material. For this reason, access to CompuServe is practical for journalists, teachers and educators, and for others whose professional work environments do not bear the infrastructural costs of Internet access. Unlike national on-line services in Europe, CompuServe is significantly represented internationally. A final point in favour of CompuServe over its large Internet cousin is that much of the information available is of greater guality, not least the messages exchanged in the discussion groups.

During the 'comet week' in July 1994, CompuServe saturated just like various places on the Internet. At the end of the Shoemaker-Levy 9 event, 628 images were available on CompuServe, and 258 information files, originating in 37 observatories or institutes. In addition, there had been 22 video files and many thousands of messages exchanged.

Growth in CompuServe's subscription base is around 50 % per annum. CompuServe's Space/Astronomy area gets several thousand accesses per week. ESO's press releases are made available there, at the time of release. Many expressions of appreciation have been received from CompuServe members regarding this possibility to access information on ESO's work.

For further information please contact: F. Murtagh, ST-ECF, Garching (Internet: fmurtagh@eso.org CompuServe: 100120,3377)

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Council and Committee Members in 1995

Council

Belgium:

Denmark:

France:

Germany:

Italy:

The Netherlands:

Sweden[.]

Switzerland:

Portugal:

Committee of Council

J.P. Swings H. Grage J. Fouan A. Freytag F. Pacini

Scientific Technical Committee

J. Andersen* (1992-96) S. Beckwith (1994-98) A. Blecha (1992-96) R. Braun (1993-97) K.S. de Boer (1991-95) D. Dravins (1993-97) R. Foy (1990-95)

Finance Committee

Belgium: Denmark: France: Germany: Italy The Netherlands:

J.P. Swings (Vice-President) E.L. van Dessel H. Jørgensen H. Grage B. Fort J. Fouan D. Reimers A. Freytag F. Pacini C. Chiuderi E. Campo E.P.J. van den Heuvel J. Bezemer B. Gustafsson B. Brandt G. Tammann P. Creola (President) St. Berthet F. Bello (Observer)

E. Campo J. Bezemer B. Gustafsson, B. Brandt P. Creola

T. Lago (1991-95) (Observer)

O. Lefèvre (1995-97)

B. Marano (1993-97)

S. Ortolani (1993-97)

Ch. Sterken (1990-96)

J.W. Pel (1992-96)

J. Mould (Observer)

B.K. Rosengreen

P. Laplaud/M. Nauciel

P. Léger

M. Stötzel

J. Bezemer

U. Sessi

Sweden: Switzerland: Portugal:

Observing Programmes Committee

Members

C.-J. Björnsson (1993-97) J. Lequeux (1994-96) G. Chincarini (1992-96) Knude (1994-98) J. Krautter* (1992-96) W. Schmutz (1993-97) C. Waelkens (1995-99) F. Verbunt (1993-97)

T. Lago (1993-96) Observer)

J. Mould (Observer)

Users Committee

J. Gustavsson* M. Gottret F. Bello (Observer)

Substitutes

E. van Groningen M. Gérin G. Vettolani P. Kjærgaard Rasmussen Th. Gehren Y. Chmielewski H, Dejonghe J. Lub

P. Barthel, Member at large R. Sancisi, Member at large C. de Bergh, Member at large

N. Bergvall (1993-96) M. Dennefeld* (1992-95) S. Di Serego Alighieri (1993-96) H. Schild (1994-97) F.P. Israel (1994-97) J. Mould (Observer)

P. Magain (1995-98) B. Nordström (1995-98) H. Zinnecker (1992-95)

Time-Table of Council Sessions and Committee Meetings

February 10 March 21 May 2-3 May 4-5 May 9-10 June 7-8 September 25 November 2-3 November 6-7 November 21-24 November 28-29 Scientific Technical Committee (extraord.) Finance Committee (extraord.) Users Committee Scientific Technical Committee **Finance Committee** Council Finance Committee (extraord.) Scientific Technical Committee **Finance Committee Observing Programmes Committee** Council

*Chairman