Other Decisions by Council

Prof. B. Strömgren was elected President of ESO Council for 1975; the Vice-president will be Prof. J. F. Denisse, who was appointed French delegate at the 23rd meeting.

On the various advisory committees the following changes in chairmanship took place:

Scientific Policy Committee: Prof. L. Biermann succeeded Prof. 8. Strömgren;

Finance Committee: Mr. M. Deloz succeeded Dr. M. Fehrm;

Observing Programmes Committee: Prof. G. Wlérick succeeded Prof. P. Ledoux;

Instrumentation Committee: Prof. G. Courtès succeeded Prof. J. Borgman. The latter was asked to stay on as a member for at least another year and agreed to do so.

New President of the ESO Council



The new Council President, Professor Bengt Strömgren, has for many years been participating in the leadership of the Organization. In 1967, the Council decided to create a Scientific Programmes Committee and he was appointed as its first chairman. In 1971 when this committee was replaced by the Scientific Policy Committee and the Observing Programmes Committee, Prof.

Prof. 8. Strömgren

Strömgren became the chairman of the SPC, a post he held until his nomination as Council President.

In the course of his very distinguished career, the new Council President has held many important offices. He was director of the Copenhagen Observatory from 1940 till 1951, when he assumed the directorship of the Yerkes and McDonald observatories connected with the University of Chicago. In 1957 he joined the staff of the Institute for Advanced Studies in Princeton where he remained until his return to Denmark in 1967 to take over the chair of astronomy at Copenhagen University. The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters elected him as occupant of their "House of Honour" (of which Niels Bohr had been one of the previous occupants) - a wonderful setting for the hospitality offered by Professor and Mrs. Strömgren to their many friends from Copenhagen and elsewhere during the past years.

From 1970 to 1973 Prof. Strömgren was president of the International Astronomical Union, from 1971 to 1974 director of NORDITA, the Scandinavian Institute for Theoretical Atomic Physics, and he has been the president of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters since 1969.

The Council President's wide knowledge and interests cover virtually all fields of astronomy and he has especially contributed to research on the structure and atmospheres of the stars and the properties of the interstellar medium. In recent years he has introduced in the field of observational astronomy the so-called "Strömgren system of intermediate-band photometry" which has opened important possibilities for the study of the physical properties of the stars. His visits to ESO/ Chile, during some of which he participated in observing programmes on La Silla, have made him thoroughly familiar with our observatory. A. B.

SPC Gets New Chairman



The new chairman of the Scientific Policy Committee, Professor Ludwig Biermann, has for many years directed the well-known Max-Planck Institute for Physics and Astrophysics in Munich. Earlier in his career he was head of the astrophysics section of the Max-Planck Institute for Physics at Göttingen. In the course of the years he has developed close relations with astronomical in-

Prof. L. Biermann

stitutes in various countries throughout the world.

Prof. Biermann's scientific interests cover many fields of astrophysics, ranging from stellar structure and evolution to the problems of cosmic radiation and interstellar magnetic fields and those of the physics of comets and interplanetary matter. He is deeply interested in aspects of space research and was recently awarded the gold medal of the (British) Royal Academy of Sciences for his achievements.

Since the creation of the ESO Scientific Policy Committee, Prof. Biermann has been one of its members. This committee has as its principal task to advise the Council on matters of general scientific policy, a task which obviously is of particular significance in the present phase of ESO now that problems of restructuring and the future development of the Organization have to be thoroughly studied. In assuming the leadership of this important committee Prof. Biermann succeeds Prof. Strömgren, the incoming Council President.

Schedule I	or first half of 1975
for meetings Committee, t	g dates and locations were reserved of the ESO Council, the Sclentific Policy he Finance Committee, the Instrumen- sittee and the Observing Programmes
	sites and the Observing Programmes
tation Comm Committee: April 8/9	Instrumentation Committee, Geneva
Committee: April 8/9	
Committee: April 8/9 April 10	Instrumentation Committee, Geneva
Committee: April 8/9 April 10 April 11	Instrumentation Committee, Geneva Finance Committee, Lyons
Committee:	Instrumentation Committee, Geneva Finance Committee, Lyons Committee of Council, Lyons