September: Thé/van der Hucht, Crane/Tarenghi/Materne/ Chincarini, Ulrich, Rosa, Bouchet, Danks/Dennefeld.

#### 1-m Photometric Telescope

- April: Groote/Kaufmann/Filter, Groote/Schultz, Thé/Bakker, Bensammar, Ardeberg/Maurice, Bernard, Reipurth.
- May: Reipurth, Motch, Mattila/Schnur, Mattila/Schallwich/Schnur, Kohoutek, Motch, de Loore/Sterken.
- June: de Loore/Sterken, Bouchet, Tarenghi/Tanzi, Lub, Westerlund, Elvius/Westin, Barwig/Schoembs, Bouchet, Epchtein/Guibert/Q-Rieu/Turon.
- July: Epchtein/Guibert/Q-Rieu/Turon, Mauder, Ardeberg/Gustafsson, Hoffmann, Schmidt/Engels/ Schultz, Moorwood/Shaver/Salinari.
- August: Moorwood/Shaver/Salinari, Moorwood/Salinari/ Alcaíno, Geyer/Hänel/Nelles, Bergvall, Bouchet, Heck.
- September: Heck, van Woerden/Danks, de Jong/Wesselink/ Habing/Baud/Thé/van der Hucht, Bouchet.

### 50-cm ESO Photometric Telescope

- April: Lodén, Motch, Ahlin/Sundman.
- May: Ahlin/Sundman, Kohoutek, Mattila/Schnur, Mattila/Schallwich/Schnur, Terzan, Ahlin/Sundman.
- June: Ahlin/Sundman, Lundström/Stenholm, Ahlin/Sundman, F. and M. Spite.
- July: F. and M. Spite, Ahlin/Sundman, Bouchet, Mauder, Ap Workgroup.
- August: Ap Workgroup, Ahlin/Sundman, Bouchet, Häfner, Bouchet, Lagerkvist/Rickman.
- September: Lagerkvist/Rickman, Thé/v. d. Hucht, Schober, Bouchet.

## 40-cm GPO Astrograph

40-cm GP	O Astrograph
May:	Debehogne.
1.5-m Dar	nish Telescope
April:	Reipurth, Grosbøl, Pedersen, Vogt, Ratier, Hansen.
May:	Hansen.
June:	Aurière, Pedersen, Motch/Ilovaisky/Chevalier, Bar- wig/Schoembs.
August:	Gaida, van Paradijs, Pedersen, Motch/Ilovaisky/ Chevalier, Pedersen.
50-cm Da	nish Telescope
April:	Renson/Manfroid, Ardeberg/Gustafsson.
May:	Ardeberg/Gustafsson, Kubiak/Seggewiss, Debe- hogne.
June:	Debehogne, Radeke, Ardeberg/Gustafsson.
July:	Wramdemark.
August:	Ardeberg/Gustafsson.
90-cm Du	tch Telescope
April:	Lub, Thé/Bakker, Pakull, Lub, Pakull.
May:	Pakull.
June:	van Paradijs/van der Klis, Lub.
July:	Lub.
August:	de Ruiter/Lub.
61-cm Bo	chum Telescope
May:	Hardorp, Kohoutek, Terzan.
June:	Terzan, Radeke, Kozok.
July:	Kozok, Ott/Rindermann.
August:	Ott/Rindermann, Sanders.
3 3	

September: Schober.

## **NEWS AND NOTES**

One of the Founders of ESO Receives ADION Medal for 1978

The Association for International Development of the Nice Observatory (ADION) awards each year, since 1963, a medal honouring a French or foreign scientist known for the importance of his contribution to the development of astronomy and astrophysics and to the establishment of international cooperation in this science. The medal for 1978 has been awarded to Professor Jan H. Oort who played a major part in the creation of the European Southern Observatory.

Professor Jan H. Oort was born on April 28 1900 in Franeker in the Netherlands. He was educated at the University of Groningen and, after a two-year stay in the USA, he settled down in Leiden for the rest of his career. In 1945 he was nominated Professor and appointed Director of the Leiden Observatory. It can be said of Professor Oort that he is one of the founders of galactic astronomy: he analysed the differential rotation of our galaxy around its centre, evaluated the mass and dimension of our galaxy (1926-1927) and made a determination of the mass density in the vicinity of the Sun (1932). Furthermore, he participated in one of the first detections of the 21-cm atomic hydrogen line emitted by the interstellar gas (1951); he also gave a description of the spiral structure of our galaxy (1954) and of the galactic centre (1960) and discovered the high-velocity clouds. Moreover, he accomplished remarkable works on the origin of comets, on the synchrotron radiation theory and on the structure of the Crab Nebula.

The influence of Professor Jan H. Oort on contemporary astronomy was considerable. In the Netherlands he promoted the construction of the Dwingeloo radio telescope and of the Westerbork interferometer and gave his support to space research. He also played a major part in the creation of the European astronomical journal *Astronomy and Astrophysics*. He had important official functions in the International Astronomical Union as a General Secretary from 1938 to 1948 and as President from 1959 to 1961. He worked for the reconstruction of the astronomical union after the Second World War in a spirit of great international cooperation.

Other personalities to whom the ADION Medal was awarded are (in chronological order): 1963: André Danjon; 1964: Marcel Minnaert; 1965: Bengt Strömgren; 1966: Otto Heckmann; 1967: Charles Fehrenbach; 1968: Alexandre Mikhaïlov; 1969: Donald Sadler; 1970: André Lallemand; 1971: Bart Bok; 1972: Lubos Perek; 1973: not attributed; 1974: Evry Schatzman and Pol Swings; 1975: Kaj Strand; 1976: Wilbur Christiansen; 1977: Jean Delhaye.

# Fifth European Regional Meeting

The Fifth European Regional Meeting, cosponsored by IAU and EPS, on "Variability in Stars and Galaxies" will take place in Liège from 28 July till 1 August. Four general lectures have been planned (J. O. Stenflo: Solar Variability; C. Hazard: Variability in Galactic Nuclei and Quasars; J. van Paradijs: X-ray Bursters; I. Shklovsky: SS 433). In addition, about 25 invited papers will be given in the area of Sun, variable stars, active nuclei and quasars, variable galactic X-ray sources and related objects, interstellar medium and star formation, supernovae and remnants, early universe.

Further information may be obtained from Prof. P. Ledoux, Université de Liège, Institut d'Astrophysique, 5, ave de Cointe, B-4200 Cointe-Ougrée, Belgium.